Software Feature Requests–Bug Reports*

*from a former-Microsoft-test-engineer-turned-teacher.

RealPlayer

  • stop crashing on secondary monitor

PowerPoint 2013

  • stop crashing so much (embedding videos feature seems to have some bugs…)
  • don’t roundtrip to SkyDrive on the UI thread, save locally first, then do your network stuff
  • for teachers there should be a feature to display a timer on a given slide, the timer should count down or count up, have visual or audio clues while “ticking” and have visual or audio clues when “time’s up!”, to do this now I am embedding videos (2-minute, 3-minute, 4-minute) on each-and-every slide.

Adobe Acrobat Professional

  • don’t lock the file when you are previewing in Windows Explorer, when I open, edit and try to save, I can’t because Windows Explorer was previewing a thumbnail

Word 2013

  • stop hanging when I try to mail merge with an open Excel file.
  • stop hanging when I try to insert a hyperlink
  • I need a standard bullet that looks in-your-face like a checkbox.  It would be great if it really did check like OneNote (see below).

Excel 2013

  • I need a function CountDistinct() or CountDuplicate().  I’m using Excel to create random worksheets/quizzes from the periodic table and I need to know if a random sequence of atomic numbers has any duplicates.  For that matter, I need a RandomSequence() function that does NOT allow duplicates.

OneNote 2013

  • Need a standard bullet that looks like a checkbox, don’t know why we didn’t think of this sooner.  It needs to be an “in-your-face” checkbox, like CTRL+1, but a bullet.

Outlook 2013

  • I have this crazy bug where my insert hyperlink dialog freezes up or is very non-performant

image

Windows

  • Suppose you have multiple monitors.  You move a mouse to a monitor and do ALT+TAB to find the application window that you want.  But:  ALT+TAB only shows you the application windows that are on that monitor.
Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Comments

  • John Weisenfeld  On January 14, 2015 at 4:51 pm

    Adobe Acrobat locks up when optimizing a file. I wish I could read PDFs right now, but I can’t because I am optimizing. re

  • John Weisenfeld  On January 24, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    Many of these bugs went away when I nuked and paved my machine to out-of-the-box Windows 7 and then clean upgraded to Windows 8.1 Professional. There are only a couple of outstanding issues.

    One is: folder search is interminably slow (since I don’t index to keep results fresh). My best method to search now is to a command prompt and do dir /s *foo* | more. True story!

Leave a Reply

